Early Years Foundation Stage

October 1, 2019

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework designed to ensure that all early years providers offer the best possible environment in which to support all children’s learning and development and welfare needs.

At The Pink Cottage we uphold the guidance and statutory requirements of the EYFS by ensuring the following:

  • Recognising and valuing each child as an individual
  • Caring and supportive practitioners dedicated to building good relationships with children and their families
  • Facilitating environments that are rich in learning opportunities
  • Ensuring each child has opportunities to engage in activities and experiences designed to help them develop and reach their full potential

One of the main focuses of the EYFS is a play-based approach to children’s learning and development. At The Pink Cottage we are committed to delivering high quality, fun, personalised learning experiences that focus on the children’s current interests and developmental needs.

Recording observations on every child which identify ‘significant moments’ in their learning and development, are crucial in order to successfully monitor their progress and to identify achievements and areas for development. Practitioners will continually observe and record and then plan for your child’s individual learning and development needs. Each child will have their own development folder, ‘My Playtime at The Pink Cottage’, which parents/carers are welcome to see at any time.

The Early Years Foundation Stage also encourages practitioners and parents/carers to work together to help ensure children develop to their full potential. We therefore encourage all parents/carers to share information about their child’s experiences, progress and development at home. Staff will always be delighted to hear about these achievements at the beginning or end of your child’s session, and they can also be recorded in their own ‘Pink Cottage Diary’ or through parent observation slips. Each child’s key person will also organise regular meetings to ensure information is continually shared.

The EYFS identifies seven areas of Learning and Development and it is these areas which provide the focus for activities and experiences, for supporting and developing children’s progress. Practitioners are continually making ongoing observations on these areas in order to effectively plan for your child’s individual learning and development needs. The seven areas are as follows:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Literacy
  • Maths
Leave a reply
The Curiosity Approach

Leave Your Reply